Trigger: user is hit by an attack
Heroes of the Fallen Lands deleted the force keyword from shield. The power does not deal force damage. The "Class Compendium: The Arcanist" article in Dragon 401 republished shield with no further changes.
This power is rated as excellent, as it can negate an inbound attack and allow you to keep the bonus until the end of the next turn. [Charop Wizard]
This power was discussed as an example of a confusing power in a Save My Game article, concerning rules arguments.[Du195] The author of the article explains how the information on how to use the power is described in the general rules as opposed to the power in question, where the immediate interrupt could only be played on other character's turns, adjusts the result of whatever it was interrupting, and other common comments. The author recommended creating a miniature FAQ or cheat sheet in order to speed things up for players.