Target: one creature within this power's range
The mark applied by a paladin's divine challenge is in addition to any marks on other creatures applied by the paladin's divine sanction. The penalty to a marked target is the same, whether marked by divine challenge or divine sanction, but divine challenge marks can be maintained indefinitely, as long as the paladin continues to engage the marked target.
The damage a marked target takes for violating a hybrid paladin's divine challenge is reduced. The damage equals the hybrid paladin's Charisma modifier, and increases to 2 + the hybrid paladin's Charisma modifier at 11th level, and 4 + the hybrid paladin's Charisma modifier at 21st level.[PH3:146]
Essentials update 2 improved divine challenge. The update removed the restriction on using divine challenge on the turn after a paladin fails to engage the marked target or challenge a different target.
This power was subject to errata and FAQ concerning when the target specifically takes the radiant damage. Based on the current text of the power, it appears to take the damage when it targets your allies with an attack power as opposed to waiting until the attack is resolved.
|Elemental Challenge[DP:124]||Genasi||Allows changing the damage type|